|
It is currently Thu Nov 21, 2024 6:48 am
|
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 9 posts ] |
|
[solved]1 css table (or simular) multiple HTML pages?
Author |
Message |
Mole
Minor Diety
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:09 pm Posts: 4004 Location: Walsall, West Mids, UK
|
[solved]1 css table (or simular) multiple HTML pages?
What I want to know, is if it is posible (and how) to make 1 single CSS table, display on the left side of this webpage:
www.paint-zone.co.uk/main.html
So that if I click to navigate to a different page, it still shows?
The point in me doing this is so that whenever I change the table, I just modify the CSS part, instead of having to go through and change each HTML page.
_________________ Games to complete: GTA IV [100%] (For Multiplayer next!) Fallout 3 [50%] Rock Band [35%] http://www.cafepress.com/SmeepProducts
Last edited by Mole on Sat Jan 29, 2005 7:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
|
Fri Jan 28, 2005 12:46 pm |
|
|
ElevenBravo
King
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 2:18 pm Posts: 1976 Location: Sexy Town
|
If you coded in PhP you could do this easy. As far as I know, the only thing a CSS will change is color and text size. It wont change the table itself or the images in the table. Just stuff like font color, backgrougd color etc. If youre wanting the ability to change the table it self I dont think a CSS is going to work. Your stuck using frames or switching to PHP.
I could be wrong.
_________________ Contrary to popular belief, America is not a democracy, it is a Chucktatorship.
|
Fri Jan 28, 2005 1:24 pm |
|
|
Mole
Minor Diety
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:09 pm Posts: 4004 Location: Walsall, West Mids, UK
|
What about absolute possitioning? I know that can be used, but I don't know how. On both counts.
_________________ Games to complete: GTA IV [100%] (For Multiplayer next!) Fallout 3 [50%] Rock Band [35%] http://www.cafepress.com/SmeepProducts
|
Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:19 pm |
|
|
ElevenBravo
King
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 2:18 pm Posts: 1976 Location: Sexy Town
|
_________________ Contrary to popular belief, America is not a democracy, it is a Chucktatorship.
|
Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:33 pm |
|
|
Satis
Felix Rex
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 6:01 pm Posts: 16662 Location: On a slope
|
btw, css can control many things, including the outlining of a table, cell padding/spacing/outlines, background images, underline, overline, bold, etc etc etc. Basically anything that a deprecated html element can do. background-image: /yo/momma.jpg for instance.
I'm not sure I understand the question about css table blah blah. If you're talking about a menu you want to carry over from one page to another, yea, css isn't the way to do that. You want either php includes or maybe server side includes (same effect, less power). Or frames. Or iframes should work too, if you want an html only solution that doesn't use classical frames.
_________________ They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
|
Fri Jan 28, 2005 3:26 pm |
|
|
Mole
Minor Diety
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:09 pm Posts: 4004 Location: Walsall, West Mids, UK
|
Hmmm, I hate frames. They suck monkeys. What do you know about phpincludes or server side includes?
_________________ Games to complete: GTA IV [100%] (For Multiplayer next!) Fallout 3 [50%] Rock Band [35%] http://www.cafepress.com/SmeepProducts
|
Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:00 pm |
|
|
Satis
Felix Rex
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 6:01 pm Posts: 16662 Location: On a slope
|
they're easy. My entire site (clankiller.com) is built around php includes. You have to make sure your page gets parsed by the php interpreter (ie, give it a .php extension or something). The code is like this:L
<? include("filename_to_include.php"); ?>
and that's it. Easy. Server side includes I'd have to look up, but it's very similar.
_________________ They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
|
Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:36 pm |
|
|
Mole
Minor Diety
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:09 pm Posts: 4004 Location: Walsall, West Mids, UK
|
So give me some basics to work with,
For instance a basic table in php, what i'd save it as, and where i'd call it etc.
EDIT:
Right basically what i have done is created a .php file called "menutable.php"
Also a dummy html file.
The file "menutable.php" has a HTML table in it, which I can display through my browser by navigating to it.
to call the table in my dummy html file, what do i do?
_________________ Games to complete: GTA IV [100%] (For Multiplayer next!) Fallout 3 [50%] Rock Band [35%] http://www.cafepress.com/SmeepProducts
|
Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:08 pm |
|
|
Mole
Minor Diety
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:09 pm Posts: 4004 Location: Walsall, West Mids, UK
|
Never mind, I did it.
_________________ Games to complete: GTA IV [100%] (For Multiplayer next!) Fallout 3 [50%] Rock Band [35%] http://www.cafepress.com/SmeepProducts
|
Sat Jan 29, 2005 7:14 pm |
|
|
|
Page 1 of 1
|
[ 9 posts ] |
|
Who is online |
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot post attachments in this forum
|
|