It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:18 pm



Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Modification of some php 
Author Message
Minor Diety
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:09 pm
Posts: 4003
Location: Walsall, West Mids, UK
Reply with quote
Post Modification of some php
I'm going to be using some software, called Bblog. It's a php blogger. Now, I know there are plenty of better solutions out there, or even plenty of better LIVE solutions out there (this is being superseded) but still, this could prove a nice little experiment.

I've installed the blog just fine to my host etc, it can be view here

www.smeep.me.uk/Bblog

Some work needs doing on the template etc, but basically what I want to do is include this blog on my main page, without using an Iframe.

the main page, of course being www.smeep.me.uk

So. First thing I tried was simply including like so

Code:
<? include=("Bblog/index.php") ?>


Which gave me a result of including the blog, but it seems to (logically) be parsing some of the code that is on the index.php of the blog. With me?

So, what I want to 'confirm' (because I'm pretty sure) for now is this.

Is it possible that I could modify the code of this blog to write to a new file, e.g. blog.html/blog.php aswell as the existing one, but on the new one, remove any of the php it's trying to parse, giving just an output, yet still allowing all the "comment" etc options to work?

Lol, now that's a question.

Searching on their forums (which are pretty much dead) gives the result of using RSS feeds to include the blog - something which I have no idea how to do!

Cheers peoples.

_________________
Games to complete:
GTA IV [100%] (For Multiplayer next!)
Fallout 3 [50%]
Rock Band [35%]
http://www.cafepress.com/SmeepProducts


Mon Jul 30, 2007 4:08 pm
Profile WWW
Duke
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2003 8:59 am
Posts: 1358
Location: right behind you
Reply with quote
Post 
Your page has 2 problems.

The first is that you are trying to include a full HTML page inside you existing page.

The seconds is that the included page is sending headers, which is what is causing errors on your page.

Of course, both of these are caused by trying to wrap their page inside your own. I would just use their template (and change it to fit my design) instead of trying to force it inside an existing page, and replace your index with their page.

If you are married to including the page, then you need to remove all the extra HTML from the page (html, body, head, etc), and then use output buffering on your own pages to prevent them from sending anything to the browser until after the include.


Mon Jul 30, 2007 6:14 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Minor Diety
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:09 pm
Posts: 4003
Location: Walsall, West Mids, UK
Reply with quote
Post 
Ok, thanks for the (now that that I look at it stupidly obvious) advice ;)

Their templates should be fairly easy to modify, as I'm pretty sure that their index page is just including some other index from somewhere else, so I'll take a peak at that first.

Thanks again :D I was making it more complicated than it needs be.

_________________
Games to complete:
GTA IV [100%] (For Multiplayer next!)
Fallout 3 [50%]
Rock Band [35%]
http://www.cafepress.com/SmeepProducts


Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:02 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.